The Last Lecture


I was about to finish a blog 3-4 days back but in between I got this book “The Last Lecture” written by Randy Pausch .
My first impression was that it is similar to many motivational books floating around in the market and I admit it that these types of books are not appealing to me. I don’t find this type of books very interesting and gripping.
So just because one of my friend had gifted me this book I started reading some random pages of the book and in the next 5 mins I dropped idea of completing my post . I was sure that I have to read the complete book first.
The book is written by Randy Pausch, a professor of computer science Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States. He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and doctors told him that he had 3-6 months left only.
His wife wanted him to spend the rest of his life with her and their 3 young children but he wanted to deliver his last lecture for his students. He persuaded her wife that if he will spend the rest of his life with his children even in that case once the kids grew up, the memory of their father will be erased. So he wanted to deliver a lecture about everything he wanted his kids to know and learn, about his childhood, about his growing days.
On the D day, before speaking, Pausch received a long standing ovation from a large crowd of over 400 colleagues and students .But he motioned them to sit down, saying, “Make me earn it,”
He offered his listeners inspirational life advice that can be applied to one’s professional and personal life as well as the insights on computer science and engineering education, multi-disciplinary collaborations, and working in groups and interacting with other people with the help of some slides.
He said that he didn’t like his cancer, but he would rather have cancer than be hit by a bus. The cancer gave him the chance to spend as much possible time with his family and getting their life ready for when he passes away.
Shortly after his last lecture, a book was written to better educate people on Randy Pausch’s methods of living a more fulfilling life, by simply achieving one’s childhood dreams and this book is all about pausch’s method of living.

After a very long time I read a complete book in one Go and I am deeply impressed by the book as well as the writer and really recommend every one to read this book.

******
Some News about Chetan Bhagat :-
Chetan Bhagat is gifting his fans the Diwali Bonanza. His new book “2 states , the story of my marriage” will be released this diwali. This one is a story of a punjabi boy and a tamil girl and how they convince their parents for their marriage, seems to me another “DDLJ” in making
.
Here is the synopsis of the book :-

Love marriages around the world are simple:
Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.
They get married.
In India, there are a few more steps:
Boy loves Girl. Girl loves Boy.
Girl’s family has to love boy. Boy’s family has to love girl.
Girl’s Family has to love Boy’s Family. Boy’s family has to love girl’s family.
Girl and Boy still love each other. They get married.

Seems to have another rom-com story in readers’s kitty. I guess the story in Chetan Bhagat’s books and content of my blogs can’t change 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Last Lecture

  1. hey bhasker.. i have read this good and for sure its awesome. i was sure to buy it first place once i got to know that Randy died and there is a book On his Last lecture that he had delivered. awesome wrk.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

